Skyros - Geographic co-ordinates and position

The island of Skyros, "the heart of the Aegean Sea", is the bigger island of North Sporades having an extent of 215 square kilometres and its resident population is about 3.500 people.

The island is halfway or so from the east coasts of Euboea, in a distance of 23 miles north-east from Kymi and 26 miles south from Alonnessos.

Skyros belongs, for administrative purposes, to the Prefecture of Euboea. It participates in the Prefectural Council having three elected representatives, who constitute the provincial council of the island.

Skyros, as a whole, constitutes a Municipality, which is geographically identified with the County of Skyros, the responsibilities of which are different from those of a Municipality.

There are a lot of smaller islands in the surrounding area. Some of these small islets are used as pasturelands, while this medley of land and sea is a marvellous fishery.

We could mention several islands like Skyropoula, Sarakiniko or the Island of the Despot, Renea, Plateia and Koulouri. There are also a lot of desert islands as well as some rocky islands such as Vrahonissia in Achilli, St. Armolaos, Diavates, Aloni, Myrmigonissia, Cameles, Vrykolakonissia etc.

The island of Skyros consists of two massifs; between these massifs, there is a level ground that stretches for 3,5 kilometres and is 2,5 kilometres in width.

This level ground, which once was sunk in the sea, begins from Achilli and goes up to Kalamitsa, dividing the island in the north-western and south-eastern parts. The north-western part of Skyros is relatively level and fertile, with spring sources, a profuse vegetation and it is full of pinewoods.

On the contrary, the south-eastern part of the island is mountainous, stony and barren. The people of Skyros call this part of the island "the Mountain", not for its altitude, but because it is completely stony.